Early Voting: February 14 – February 25
Election Day: March 1

For sample ballots and polling locations, click here.

A printable jpg of these recommendations is at the end of this list.

The True Texas Project Board members will not ever tell you how to vote.  Instead, we let you know where we as individuals are leaning and offer that to you as a starting point for your own research.  THESE ARE NOT ENDORSEMENTS.  In fact, many times we have to choose the lesser of two evils.  These are the choices we all must make so we do our best.  We spend hours and hours interviewing candidates, researching voting records, and gathering data.  Then we discuss the pros and cons for each candidate, and we all make our own decisions.  We do not try to come to a consensus.  We merely tell you how many votes each candidate received from board members.

Here is the list of our choices for Tarrant County. There are 7 members on the TTP Board. In order to save space, candidates not receiving any votes from our Board are not listed, nor are those without any opponents. If the vote count does not add up to 7, it is because some Board members abstained from that vote for various reasons.

Congressional District 6
James Buford                    1 vote

Congressional District 12
Alysia Rieg                         1 vote
undervote                          3 votes

Congressional District 24
Beth Van Duyne               7 votes

Congressional District 26
Brian Brazeal                    4 votes

Congressional District 30
no opinions

Congressional District 33
no opinions

Don Huffines                     7 votes
*note:  our Board members have each selected Huffines as our picks, but we are all still firmly “anyone but Abbott.”  To read about why we must replace Abbott, and for an explanation as to why this will NOT result in a Democrat governor, please click here.  To read why we feel it should be Huffines, click here.

Lt Governor
Trayce Bradford               4 votes
Daniel Miller                     3 votes

Attorney General
 Louie Gohmert                 7 votes
*note: we wish to be clear this is not an anti-Paxton vote; at this p0int in history we feel Gohmert is the better choice.

Glenn Hegar                      7 votes
*note: Hegar’s opponent makes valid points; we spoke with Hegar about making sure they are addressed

Land Commissioner
Dawn Buckingham          2 votes
Jon Spiers                          2 votes
Victor Avila                        1 vote

Agricultural Commmissioner
Carey Counsil                    3 votes
Sid Miller                            4 votes

Railroad Commissioner
Wayne Christian               7 votes
*note: there are some fine people running against Christian, but we did not feel his performance warranted being replaced.

State Court of Criminal Appeals
Clint Morgan                     7 votes
*note:  this is Texas’s chance to undo a silly vote for Scott Walker, who only won because he has the same name as someone famous!

Supreme Court Pl 9
David Schenck                   7 votes

State Board of Education D11
Josh Tarbay                       6 votes

State Board of Education D13
Ajua Mason                        1 vote
Kathryn Monette              5 votes
*note:  when we were recruiting for a candidate to run, both of these candidates responded at the last minute, and we ended up with 2! Because Kathryn is on the TTP Dallas County leadership team, weight went to her.

State Senator, D10
Warren Norred                 7 votes

State Senator, D12
 Tan Parker                         4 votes

State Rep, D91
David Lowe                        7 votes

State Rep, D93
Nate Schatzline                 6 votes

State Rep, D98
Mitchell Ryan                    7 votes

District Judge 231
Jesse Nevarez                   7 votes

District Judge 323
Alex Kim                            7 votes

District Judge 324
Elizabeth Rivera               6 votes

District Judge 325
Cynthia Terry                    6 votes

District Judge 371
Ryan Hill                            6 votes

District Judge 372
Julie Lugo                          6 votes

Criminal District Judge 4
Andy Porter                       7 votes

District Attorney
Matt Krause                       1 vote
Phil Sorrells                       6 votes

County Judge
Tim O’Hare                        7 votes
(for more info on why we don’t support Betsy Price, please click here.)

Criminal Court 10
Trent Loftin                       7 votes

Criminal Court 5
Mamie Johnson                4 votes
Brad Clark                          1 vote
Chris McGregor                2 votes

Criminal Court 6
Randi Hartin                      6 votes

Criminal Court 9
Brian Bolton                      3 votes
Steven Jumes                    3 votes

District Clerk
Tom Wilder                        7 votes

County Commissioner 4
Manny Ramirez                7 votes

Justice of the Peace, Prct 7
Matt Hayes                        6 votes

Constable, Prct 4
Jason Scott Bedford        7 votes

GOP Chair
Rick Barnes                        5 votes

Print this list to share with others — Keep one to take to the polls!