Who are the Democrats in Power?

Who are the Democrats in Power?

October 9, 2023

Jefferson Davis once said, 

“Governments rest on the consent of the governed…” 

Although this fundamental principle is at the core of our Republic, the Texas House has denied it to the people of Texas for over two decades. When Republicans took the majority in the Texas House in 2002, “Republican” leadership gave powerful Committee Chairmanships to radical left Democrats.

Speaker of the Texas House, Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont), appointed Democrats to 40% of the committee chairs in the Texas House for the 88th Legislative Session, and 7 of these 8 Democrats voted against SB 8 (The Texas Heartbeat Bill) in the 87th Legislative Session. 

The same goes for HB 1927 (Constitutional Carry) in the 87th Session, where every Democrat appointed by Phelan, except for Rep. Tracy King (D-Uvalde), Chairman of the Natural Resources Committee, voted against expanding Texans’ gun rights.

These democrats, appointed by Phelan, are public with their radical left ideology.  For example,  Rep. Mary E. Gonzalez (D-Clint), Chair of one of the Appropriations Sub Committees,  has supported a race-based scholarship program “For Black Women in Stem ” on her Twitter page. Gonzalez also narrowed down who can apply for the scholarship by stating it is for “individuals who identify as a cisgender, transgender, or gender non-conforming Black woman.”

The radical left agenda that Rep. Mary E. Gonzalez continues to push should surprise anyone, given that she is the Chair of the Texas House LGBTQ Caucus. This caucus “seeks to create awareness & advocate for LGBTQ Texans while employing an intersectional lens to promote social justice.”


Other Democratic Committee Chairs, such as Rep. Armando Walle (D-Houston), Chair of the Appropriations Sub-Committee, and Oscar Longoria (D-La Joya), Chair of the Business & Industry Committee, have more often than not, voted NAY on conservative pieces of legislation.


This legislation includes, but is not limited to:

SB 14: (88R) Banning transition surgeries of minors 

SB 12: (88R): Preventing minors from attending drag shows 

HB 1927 (87R): Constitutional carry 

HB 1280 (87R): Abortion trigger ban 

SB 8 (87R): Preventing abortion after a detectable heartbeat 

These radical democrats have clarified that they do not represent the Texans who have elected a Republican trifecta for nearly two decades. The only way Texans will have a government that governs with the consent of the governed is if we no longer put the minority party in key positions.

If you are a conservative Texan who desires the basic right to be represented by your government, call your representative and let him/her know that you want them to push a motion to vacate Phelan out of his speaker seat for violating the will of the voters by placing the minority party to positions of power in the Texas House.


  • Find your representative here