Early Voting: February 14 – February 25
Election Day: March 1

For sample ballots and polling locations in Dallas County, click here.

A printable jpg of these recommendations is at the end of this list.

The True Texas Project Board members will not ever tell you how to vote.  Instead, we let you know where we as individuals are leaning and offer that to you as a starting point for your own research.  THESE ARE NOT ENDORSEMENTS.  In fact, many times we have to choose the lesser of two evils.  These are the choices we all must make so we do our best.  We spend hours and hours interviewing candidates, researching voting records, and gathering data.  Then we discuss the pros and cons for each candidate, and we all make our own decisions.  We do not try to come to a consensus.  We merely tell you how many votes each candidate received from board members.

Here is the list of our choices for the statewide races in Texas.  There are 7 members on the TTP Board.  In order to save space, candidates not receiving any votes from our Board are not listed, nor are those without any opponents.  If the vote count does not add up to 7, it is because some Board members abstained from that vote for various reasons.

Don Huffines                     7 votes
*note:  our Board members have each selected Huffines as our picks, but we are all still firmly “anyone but Abbott.”  To read about why we must replace Abbott, and for an explanation as to why this will NOT result in a Democrat governor, please click here.  To read why we feel it should be Huffines, click here.

Lt Governor
Trayce Bradford               4 votes
Daniel Miller                     3 votes

Attorney General
 Louie Gohmert                 7 votes
*note: we wish to be clear this is not an anti-Paxton vote; at this p0int in history we feel Gohmert is the better choice.

Glenn Hegar                      7 votes
*note: Hegar’s opponent makes valid points; we spoke with Hegar about making sure they are addressed

Land Commissioner
Dawn Buckingham          2 votes
Jon Spiers                          2 votes
Victor Avila                        1 vote

Agricultural Commmissioner
Carey Counsil                    3 votes
Sid Miller                            4 votes

Railroad Commissioner
Wayne Christian               7 votes
*note: there are some fine people running against Christian, but we did not feel his performance warranted being replaced.

State Court of Criminal Appeals
Clint Morgan                     7 votes
*note:  this is Texas’s chance to undo a silly vote for Scott Walker, who only won because he has the same name as someone famous!

Supreme Court Pl 9
David Schenck                   7 votes


Each county has multiple other votes to consider.  Our leadership teams in the 18 counties where we have TTP locations have weighed in on those races.   For Dallas County, there is a possibility of 3 votes.

US Representative District 6
Jake Ellzey                   2 votes
James Buford              1 vote

US Representative District 24
Beth Van Duyne          3 votes

US Representative District 30
James Rodgers                 2 votes
Kevin Goodwin-Castillo  1 vote

US Representative District 32
Darrel Day                   2 votes
Antonio Swad              1 vote

US Representative District 33
Robert Mac Glaflin      3 votes

State Board of Education, District 11
Dr. Joshua Tarbay      3 votes

State Board of Education, District 13
Ajua Mason                 2 votes
Kathryn Monette         1 vote

State Board Of Education, District 14
Sue Melton-Malone     3 votes

State Senator, District 12
Tan Parker                  2 votes
Chris Russell               1 vote

State Representative District 105
Gerson Hernandez     3 votes

Dallas County Judge
Lauren Davis               3 votes

Justice Of The Peace Precinct 2, Place 1
Billy Gallion                 2 votes
Steven Stanley            1 vote

Print this list to share with others — Keep one to take to the polls!