Early Voting:  April 24 – May 2
Election Day:  Saturday, May 6

Local elections are some of the most difficult but most important decisions to make.  They certainly affect your pocket book in the biggest way!  Every year True Texas Project tries to lend a hand.  Our leadership teams in each area do the research and make suggestions.  Most of the time, these are just that – suggestions.  Every now and then there are actually candidates we will put our name behind and endorse, but often times we don’t like any of the choices!  And yet, we all have to make a decision, and so we choose who we think edges out the other(s) in one way or another.  We will NEVER tell you how to vote. We are just one resource for you to do your own research and make your own decisions.

Scroll through the lists below.  Make sure to check your school board, city council, and college board options.

Need more help?  You can also check out

Bond Elections
As a general rule of thumb, we recommend voting against all bonds.  Until the taxing entities show they can properly manage the money they already receive, they should not be given more to play with.  We are all having to stretch our dollars.  Cities and schools will have to make tough decisions too.

School Board Elections

  • Amarillo ISD:  CONNIE Brown (there are 2 Brown’s on the ballot)
  • Arlington ISD:  Blake, Arocha
  • Big Sandy ISD:  Childress or Sheeley
  • Canyon ISD:  Davis, Blake, Posey, Rogers
  • Carrollton/Farmers Branch ISD:  Benavides, Schackmann
  • Clear Creek ISD:  Lauzon
  • Coppell:  Waters, Powers
  • Dallas ISD:  Tran, Foreman
  • Denton ISD:  Senne, Rachaner
  • Eagle Mountain ISD:  Hill
  • Ennis ISD:  Aguilar
  • Ferris ISD:  Buford (endorsed)
  • Fort Bend ISD:  Saenz, Buford, Jones
  • Fort Worth ISD:  Carlson
  • Frisco ISD:  Bond, Kershaw
  • Grapevine/Colleyville ISD:  Pontillo, Newton, Humphrey
  • Hayes CISD:  no on all 3 bonds
  • HEB ISD:  Cargile (can’t believe we are saying this)
  • Humble ISD:  Deaver, Grabowsky, Greene
  • Irving ISD:  no on all bonds
  • Italy ISD:  Holley & Reeves
  • Katy ISD:  Thieme, Calhoun, Cuzel
  • Keller ISD:  Birt, Coker
  • Kilgore ISD:  Mendez, Smith
  • Lamar CISD:  Hotzel, Welch, Box
  • Leander ISD:  no on Props A, B, C
  • Lewisville ISD:  Bumgarner, Jones
  • Little Elm ISD:  Burton Beber
  • Maypearl ISD:  Watson, Cooper, no on bond
  • McKinney ISD:  Westerheid, Elliott
  • Midlothian ISD:  Harrison (endorsed), no to props A, B & C
  • Milford ISD:  Atchley & Smith
  • Northside ISD:  Hoffman, Garcia, Billingsley
  • Northwest ISD:  Stephens, Pendergrass, Slater; no on all 3 Props
  • One City ISD:  Pearson
  • Pasadena ISD:  Fernandez, Kendrick, Morgan
  • Peaster ISD:  Blackall
  • Pflugerville ISD:  Ahmed, Allen
  • Prosper ISD:  Herblin
  • Red Oak ISD:  Foster (endorsed), Sturman (endorsed), Story (endorsed), no on Prop A
  • Richardson ISD:  Sawyer, Abadie
  • Southlake Carroll ISD:  Lannen
  • Spring Branch ISD:  Anderson, Mahan
  • Stephenville ISD:  McCleery (endorsed)
  • Waxahachie ISD:  Southerland (endorsed), no on Props A, B, C & D
  • Weatherford ISD:  Taylor
  • White Oak ISD:  Combs

City Council Elections

  • Aledo: Smith for council, no on the bond
  • Alma: Wilson (for mayor), Prachyl & Marusak (for 2 council seats), Cowon (for special election), yes on Prop A
  • Amarillo:  Stanley (for mayor)
  • Arlington:  Cearnal, Mosby, Hunter
  • Austin: No on Prop A, Yes on Prop B (others are recommending no on both; you choose!)
  • Big Sandy:  Rozell
  • Carrollton:  Babbick, Carpenter, Palacios, Palomo
  • Coppell:  Premkumar
  • Corinth:  Heidemann, Pickens
  • Dallas:  Sims, Madison, Carter, Evans, Shacklett, Miller
  • Double Oak:  Johnson, Wellen, Gwartney
  • Duncanville:  Koontz, Contreras, Gooden
  • Ennis:  Spence (Commissioner Ward 4)
  • Farmers Branch:  Lynne
  • Ferris:  Heckathorn (Alderman Place 2)
  • Ft Worth:  Lauersdorf (D4), de la Cruz (D6), Ellis (D7), Blaylock (D10), Herring (D11)
  • Frisco:  Piland
  • Friendswood:  Hill
  • Gilmer:  Marshall
  • Grapevine:  No recommendations.  It’s Coy (moderate incumbent) vs Thorsell (Trumper) for Place 5, and O’Dell (Dem incumbent) vs Strayer (Rep) for Place 6.
  • Haltom City:  Sturgeon, Hillilard
  • Irving:  Bertanzetti, and Croenwett OR Koehler
  • Italy:  Mosley & Kowalsky for council; yes on Prop A
  • Keller:  Mizani, Whatley, McMullin
  • Kennedale:  Gillie
  • Little Elm:  Evans, McClellan
  • Maypearl:  Lynch (mayor), Baker & Friend (council)
  • Midlothian:  McKeever, Darrach (endorsed), Gardner (endorsed)
  • Milford:  Davis, Sommers
  • North Richland Hills:  Harris
  • Ovilla:  Prop A yes
  • Pasadena:  Schoenbein,  and Velasco or Marquez
  • Plano:  Williams
  • Richardson:  Springs, Dubey
  • Round Rock:  Ly, Rabaey
  • San Antonio: NO on Prop A; Schuchardt for Mayor; Salinas, Gutierrez, Reid, De La Paz, Rudolph, Chapa, Garcia, Lippman, Whyte OR Flores (dist 10)
  • Stephenville:  Slawson
  • Trophy Club:  Tiffany for Mayor
  • Waxahachie:  Melton
  • Weatherford:  Smith


County Elections

  • Tarrant County College Dist 4:  Pritchett – 3 votes; Carpenter – 3 votes; 1 – abstain
  • Tarrant Regional Water District:  Ashton, Stroba (2 different districts)
  • Weatherford College:  Dowd